NCMA recognizes the outstanding efforts of members, leaders, and chapters. We’ve even awarded some non-members for extraordinary work. Descriptions of the NCMA awards and nomination/application deadlines are listed below. To submit an application or for any questions, email [email protected].

Why should you apply?

  1. Get recognized: Being nominated for an award is a brilliant way to celebrate your professional achievements. After all, great work deserves recognition!
  2. Boost your profile: Awards can also help you to stand out from the crowd when applying for future roles or looking for a promotion. 
  3. Celebrate in style: Our awards ceremony will take place at World Congress and Nexus. It’s the perfect opportunity to don your glad rags and meet our inspiring nominees.

Awards Presented At World Congress

Best Contract Management Magazine Article Award

This award recognizes the best articles published in NCMA’s Contract Management magazine for the past calendar year. It was established in 1971 by NCMA Life Member and Fellow Norman Singer to provide an added incentive to NCMA members to submit well-written, relevant articles for publication in Contract Management Magazine.

Contract Management Education Award

The Contract Management Education Award is designed to recognize colleges and universities whose contract management curriculum exemplifies a standard of excellence and promotes the competencies outlined in the Contract Management Body of Knowledge.

Elmer B. Staats Contracting Professional Excellence Award Awarded by Procurement Roundtable

The Procurement Round Table, in cooperation with the National Contract Management Association, awards one deserving professional, free admission to the NCMA World Congress annual conference, a $5,000 prize award, and a year of NCMA membership, to a federal acquisition professional who has contributed significantly to contracting operations or acquisition policy. 

Fellow Award

The Fellow designation recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the contract management profession and to NCMA. The first three Fellows (Stuart Davidson, Bert DuMars, and Sy Gottlieb) were approved by the Executive Council on January 9, 1967. Although the specific criteria have evolved over time, the broad categories of service required for selection as an NCMA Fellow have remained the same. Open to Members-only.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented annually to a nationally renowned and distinguished NCMA member who has made a significant contribution to contract management and NCMA. It recognizes individuals with a remarkable reputation for professionalism and exceptional achievement in contract management. It is NCMA’s highest award. There is no application or nomination form to complete. 

Learn More & Apply!

Innovation in Contracting Award

The Innovation in Contracting Award recognizes successful applications of innovative or leading-edge contract management practices in ways not previously demonstrated to achieve a mission or organizational goals and results.

Outstanding Fellow Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding NCMA Fellows, stimulate continuous contributions to NCMA and the contract management profession by Fellows, and recognize accomplishments at the Chapter and National levels. Nominations should be submitted by a Chapter president or an NCMA Fellow.


Awards Presented At Nexus 

Applications Open: November 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023

Advancing Professionals Award

This award recognizes rising stars and top performers coming into their own as leaders in contract management and in NCMA. 

Learn More 

Chapter Excellence Award

This award is designed to recognize the most outstanding Chapters based on set criteria for determination.  

Learn More

Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award

This award recognizes NCMA Chapter members who demonstrate dedicated service to the NCMA community through volunteerism. 

Learn More