ANSI Affiliation

NCMA meets the ANSI mission of enhancing global competitiveness and quality of life through its status as an Accredited Standards Developer, approved American National Standard, and accredited Certified Professional Contract Manager certification.

NCMA is an ANSI Accredited Standards Developer

ANSI Logo 

Accreditation by ANSI as an Accredited Standards Developer (ASD) signifies that an organization’s voluntary consensus standards development procedures meet ANSI’s rigorous requirements for openness and due process. To become an ASD, an organization voluntarily submits documentation of its procedures to ANSI for review and public comments, and agrees to maintain compliance with ANSI's requirements and oversight through annual audits. Accreditation by ANSI is a prerequisite for an organization to submit documents for approval as American National Standards.

NCMA was accredited as an Accredited Standards Developer on April 20, 2018, by the ANSI Board of Standards Review.

ANSI Approval of Standards as an American National Standard

ANSI approval of an American National Standard is an internationally recognized third-party assessment to determine whether the process  demonstrates a balance of interests, lack of dominance, and right to appeal while operating in accordance with approved ANSI requirements. To achieve this stature, NCMA complied with ANSI’s rigorous policies and procedures, which include:

  • Standards based on consensus,
  • Public review and comment on draft standards,
  • Response to comments,
  • Incorporation of approved changes, and
  • Right to appeal.

On April 22, 2019, the ANSI Board of Standards Review approved NCMA’s Contract Management StandardTM (CMS) as an American National Standard. As the sponsor of ANSI/NCMA ASD 1-2019, NCMA continues to fulfill its vision to, “lead in defining the standards and the body of knowledge for the contract management profession.”

How Does an ANSI-Approved CMSTM Help Professional Development?

The ANSI approval process of the CMS™ identifies meaningful job tasks and competencies and provides a roadmap for targeted and relevant professional development. In addition, the ANSI approval process contributes to the continual improvement of the contract management workforce and provides a bridge between formal standards and individual competence.

NCMA’s status as an Accredited Standards Developer and development and maintenance of its standards is overseen by the Standards Consensus Body (SCB).  The SCB members are appointed for 3-year terms by the NCMA President and they represent all aspects of contract management.  SCB members include:

  • Charlie Williams (Chair)
  • Penny White  (Vice Chair)
  • Jeff Birch
  • Dr. Al Burman
  • Po Collins, CPCM
  • Ron Falcone, CPCM, CFCM
  • David Gragan, CPPO
  • Ted Harrison
  • Ruby Harvey
  • Dustin Pitsch 
  • Dr. Rene Rendon, CPCM, CFCM
  • Martha Shepard
  • Tom Wells, CFCM


ANAB Accreditation of the Certified Professional Contract Manager (CPCM), Certified Contract Management Associate (CCMA), and Certified Federal Contract Manager (CFCM)

The CPCM™ is the gold standard of certifications in contract management. It demonstrates commitment to the profession, mastery of skills, and a deep knowledge of competencies.

The CCMA is based on the CMS, and it is the universal certification in contract management.  It demonstrates commitment to the profession and knowledge of competencies.

The CFCM™ demonstrates commitment to the profession and proficiency in experience and knowledge of the Federal Acquisition Regulation.

The ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB) accreditation process (based on the ANSI/ISO/IEC 17024 standard) provides a global benchmark for certification programs to ensure they operate in a consistent, comparable, and reliable manner worldwide.  ANSI accreditation signifies that the holder has attained a certification designed to the highest industry requirements, and that NCMA has met, and continues to meet standards for quality, underscoring the validity and integrity of its program as the gold standard of contract management certification.

NCMA's commitment to holding itself accountable to international standards in certification serves to further solidify the importance of the CPCM™ to the profession.

The maintenance of NCMA’s certification program is overseen by the Certification Oversight Body (COB).  The COB members are appointed for 3-year terms by the NCMA Chief Executive Officer and they represent all aspects of contract management.  Of the 10 COB members, 5 are Buyers, 4 are Sellers, and 1 is General Interest. COB members include:

  • Dr. Rene Rendon, CPCM, CFCM, (Chair)
  • Allie Stanzione, CPCM, CFCM (Vice Chair)
  • Iris Cooper, CPCM
  • John Dobriansky, CPCM
  • David Gragan, CPPO
  • Jack Hott, CPCM, CFCM
  • Cassandra Manos, CPCM, CFCM, CCCM
  • James Mitchell, CPCM, CFCM
  • Jack Pellegrino, CPCM
  • Stephen Yuter, CPCM

ANAB’s Personnel Credentialing Accreditation Committee accredited the CPCM on April 20, 2021, the CCMA on December 6, 2021, and the CFCM on April 25, 2022.